Profile of the MEC

Butana M. “Computer” Komphela

I was born on 7 December 1955 in the Kroonstad District at a farm called Golden Valley. I attended school on the farm at Koolmyn Higher Primary School where I completed my Standard 6.

I then attended Kananelo Senior Secondary School where I completed Form III where I received my Junior Certificate (JC). I then proceeded to Bodibeng High School where I completed my Matric.

I was first detained when I was in Form II, due to my involvement in student politics. I was arrested together with three class teachers during the 16 June 1976 Student Uprising March in protest against the use of Afrikaans in all subjects.

I was detained under internal Security which was known as Section 50 of Internal Security Act of 1985. During the State of emergency, I was also detained for 12 months.

In 1984, I worked at the Department of Home Affairs as an Administration Clerk and then later as an Interpreter in the Court.

I was the Mayor of Kroonstad from 1990-1992 during the transition to a Democratic South Africa. I then participated in the CODESA Negotiations focusing on transformation of Local Government. I was part of the delegates of Kroonstad to attend the very first Conference of the African National Congress held in Durban Westville after the unbanning. I then joined the Department of Education as a Director in Special Education in 1994.

In 1999, I became a Member of Parliamentary Legislature in the Free State and a Chairperson of the Provincial Local Government Committee.

In 2001, I left for Cape Town to work in the National Assembly in the Sport Portfolio Committee, where I worked for 10 years as its Chairperson.


I was then recalled and redeployed as Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for Police, Roads and Transport in the Free State, on 15 June 2011. After the general elections of 2014, I was again appointed MEC for Police, Roads and Transport in the Province.


I currently serve as the MEC for Health in the Free State as a consequence of a Cabinet reshuffle that was effected on 3 October 2016.